Cinnamon Buns

I love cinnamon, so it would be no surprise that…I love cinnamon buns. I like them plain (with lots of cinnamon), or with cream cheese icing, or cooked with the sticky sauce!! Today I am going to share how I make my cinnamon buns with the sticky sauce. There are many many recipes available for cinnamon buns, but I get so many compliments on my cinnamon buns – I dare you to make them. Remember to use good cinnamon, it does make a difference. You do not have to use Watkins, but use fresh, quality cinnamon. The flavour is so much more vibrant.

I make my dough in my bread maker because needing the dough increases my headache and neck muscle spasm exponentially. Hand made dough would do just fine though.

DOUGH

  • 1 cup warm(80 F) milk
  • 1 egg
  • 4 TBSP butter
  • 3 1/3 cup flour
  • 3 TBSP sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp active dry yeast OR 1 1/2 tsp bread machine yeast

Once the dough is ready, roll out into rectangle about 12 X 17 inches.

FILLING

  • 1/4 cup melted butter
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 TBSP cinnamon
  • 3/4 tsp nutmeg (optional)
  • nuts or raisons if you like

Spread the melted butter on the dough to within about Β 1 inch of the edges. If you like butter, go ahead and add more. Spread the sugar and cinnamon over, either separate or mix together first. Personally, I do not measure the cinnamon, I just shake and cover!!! Then add the nutmeg, nuts or raisons – your choice.

Roll the dough up firmly on the long side. With a knife cut the length of the roll in half, then each half in half again. Next cut each into three.

STICKY SAUCE

  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 3 TBSP honey
  • 1 TBSP corn syrup

Melt in saucepan over medium heat, stirring frequently until well mixed. remove from heat and pour into 9 X 13 greased pan. I like to use stoneware, but it doesn’t really make a huge difference. I am just choosy with my cookware.

Once the sauce is in the pan, place the cinnamon rolls on top, cover with a towel. Let them rise for 1 – 2 hours. Cook at 375 degrees F for 20 minutes. Remove from oven, let cool for 15 minutes. Turn onto platter. ENJOY!!!

Sticky Cinnamon Buns

About Susan Bachelder aka. zolemia

Susan is a free spirited slightly crazy gal who is passionate about helping people discover their potential. A Dream Whisperer, Purpose Strategist, Lover of Life, Sustainable Fulfillment Coach... Susan seeks to enlighten others with the power to step into their potential, discover their purpose. Her incredible journey of pushing through challenges, past borders is an example of the power of will, strength of soul and the persistence of the human spirit. View all posts by Susan Bachelder aka. zolemia

10 responses to “Cinnamon Buns

Leave a Reply

